Greek Potatoes with Lemon Vinaigrette

Whenever we would eat at the Parthenon, I looked forward to the Greek potato that would come with the souvlaki.  It was skinless, perfectly cooked, slightly lemony, and lightly coated in oil.  It wasn’t a nutritional masterpiece, but was it ever good.

When I shifted my Gourmet Club menu last month from moussaka to chicken, I figured that lemony Greek potatoes would nicely complement the chicken marinade and the salad dressing.  After much searching and reading of reviews, I settled on a Bobby Flay recipe: Greek Potatoes with Lemon Vinaigrette.  The recipe wouldn’t produce the whole, skinless potatoes we enjoyed in Lincoln, but I was awfully excited about the shallots, garlic, and other delicious bits in the marinade.

Based on the recommendation of several reviewers, I made only a half recipe of the vinaigrette.  (How in the world could one pan of potatoes require 1 1/2 cups of olive oil?!?)  In a medium bowl, I whisked together 3/4 cup of olive oil (still a lot, I know!), 3 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice, 1 medium shallot (chopped), 1 large garlic clove (chopped), 1/2 tablespoon of dried Greek oregano, and 1/2 tablespoon of fresh Italian parsley (chopped); I seasoned the mixture to taste with salt and pepper.

Next, I cut 3 pounds of well-scrubbed Russet potatoes lengthwise into 6 wedges each and placed them on a heavy, rimmed baking sheet.  (They just barely fit.)  The recipe doesn’t say to do this, but I generously seasoned the potato wedges with salt and pepper before I tossed them with 1/2 cup of the vinaigrette.  (During my trial run of the recipe, I thought the potatoes lacked flavor; seasoning at this point solved the problem.)  I poured 1/2 cup of chicken stock around the potatoes, skipped seasoning here since I did it earlier, and placed them in a 425F oven.  I baked the potatoes, turning them occasionally, until they were tender and golden brown (45 minutes).  To serve, I placed them on a platter and drizzled them with the remaining vinaigrette.

Greek Potatoes with Lemon Vinaigrette

The potatoes were good and were a nice complement to the meal, though I have to admit they weren’t the star of the table.  They did get very tender, but I would have appreciated a hint of crispiness.  The vinaigrette didn’t really seem to get into the potatoes either, but the flavor was especially nice if you got a bite where the shallot and garlic really clung to the potato.  I would probably make these potatoes again because they were pretty convenient for entertaining.  My search for the ideal Greek potato recipe will continue, however.

TIPS:  If you do decide to give this recipe a whirl, don’t underestimate the importance of seasoning the potato wedges before you toss them with the vinaigrette.  Don’t rely on the vinaigrette to provide all of the flavor!

Recipe link: Greek Potatoes with Lemon Vinaigrette

0 Responses to “Greek Potatoes with Lemon Vinaigrette”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


