A Kitchen Curse?

Something disturbing is happening.  Here’s a summary of my last three days in the kitchen:

  • I failed spectacularly at my Daring Bakers’ challenge.  (More on that coming Tuesday.)
  • I overbaked a batch of cookies and had to start over completely.  I didn’t realize this, of course, until they were already cooled and iced.  Naturally, there was a deadline attached to this batch as well.
  • When it was time to add a vanilla bean to a batch of homemade ice cream, I discovered that while the vanilla beans I purchased this week made it onto my receipt, they didn’t actually make it to my house.
  • The ice cream didn’t thicken (at all!) in the ice cream maker.
  • I broke a melamine bowl (isn’t melamine practically indestructible?) that (1) I had received as a wedding gift and (2) is a perfect match to my stand mixer.
  • My pie crust cracked, probably because I forgot the sanding sugar and then accidentally sealed up my crust vents with a second coating of egg wash.

Argh!  It’s enough to make me want to drop to the kitchen floor and throw a tantrum (with tears, probably).  Curse reversal and/or positive kitchen vibes would be much appreciated… 🙂

5 Responses to “A Kitchen Curse?”


  1. 1 Toni Healy October 26, 2009 at 1:28 am

    Times like these require a trip for take out and then pick your self up off the kitchen floor and wipe up the tears and get back on the cooking horse….I always look forward to your kitchen antics keep up the good work!!!

  2. 2 Kari October 26, 2009 at 5:41 am

    I hereby rebuke your kitchen curse!!!! There is no doubt that you belong in the kitchen enlightening us with your culinary instincts and skills. Do not be discouraged…..I’m sure even Einstein had a math problem that he couldn’t figure out every now and again. 🙂

    Loving you, missing you and sending you all the good vibes I can muster!!!! XOXO 🙂

  3. 3 Stephanie October 26, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Jenni,

    I’m sorry to hear you’re having so much bad luck in the kitchen! I’m sure it’s just a few bad days and you’ll be back to normal soon! Never the less, I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who had an issue with the daring bakers challenge!

  4. 4 Wic October 27, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    you too?
    I burned a batch of cookies. my Pizza hit the floor cheese side down. my most loved wooden spoon broke in half.

  5. 5 ms. elle November 1, 2009 at 7:30 am

    the only thing permanent is impermanence, my friend:)


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


