Tie-Dye Cookies

My little brother absolutely adores tie-dye.  Every time my parents or I go on vacation, we’re always keeping our eyes peeled for that perfect tie-dyed t-shirt to bring home.  (We’ve had good luck at the St. Arnold Brewery in Houston and the Left Hand Brewery in Longmont, CO; what is it with breweries and tie-dye?)

Anyway, I was trying to decide what to send my brother for his birthday (today!) and I thought tie-dye cookies would be perfect.  (I sent some cookies iced like gift boxes to my dad for his birthday last month and they all arrived intact, so I figured I might as well make a habit of it.)  I wasn’t sure how to go about accomplishing the tie-dye effect, though.  After some online inspiration and a bit of messy experimentation, I managed to come up with a technique that I think conveys tie-dye pretty well:

Tie-Dye Cookies

Aren’t they cute?  I just base-iced the cookies in one color, used a spoon to swirl two other colors of icing on top, and then dragged a toothpick from the center to the edges.  Like real tie-dye, they all end up a bit different.

Happy Birthday, little brother!  Hope you enjoy your treats. 🙂

12 Responses to “Tie-Dye Cookies”


  1. 1 Kari November 7, 2009 at 3:58 am

    These are VERY impressive!!!!! And I bet they are as delicious as they are beautiful!!! 🙂

  2. 2 jfochek November 8, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    These are actually the very same cookies we ate together over Christmas in Dallas! I’ve realized, though, that the icing won’t turn your teeth crazy colors if you let it DRY. 😉

    Hugs to you and Jason!

  3. 3 Alisha January 22, 2010 at 8:05 am

    These are the best I’ve seen! Would you share your frosting recipe? The recipe I have…I can’t swirl..it cracks!

  4. 4 jfochek January 22, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Hey, Alisha! I’m sending the recipe to your e-mail address. It *is* royal icing, though, and it will crack if you don’t work quickly… I think I was base icing, swirling the other two, and then dragging a toothpick through in about 90 seconds per cookie. It was a frantic process. 🙂 My recipe might be a bit easier to work with than whatever you’re using, though, because it has a bit of corn syrup for elasticity. You’ll have to let me know if you try it!

    • 5 Leslie January 27, 2010 at 8:57 am

      These cookies look fabulous! I have to make some tie-dye themed sugar cookies in 2 weeks and would love the royal icing recipe, too. Thanks!

  5. 6 Susan August 23, 2010 at 8:02 am

    I would love your royal icing recipe to use . Thanks!

  6. 7 ANNMARIE March 2, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    I love how shiny and hard the icing dried.
    can you post or send the recipe you used???!!!
    For my niece’s B’day we are doing a tie dye theme.
    Would love to create these!!!
    Thanks

  7. 8 Jackie March 15, 2011 at 8:51 am

    I was wondering what type of frosting you used. Buttercream or gel or something else. I hope to make them this weekend for my boyfriend.

  8. 9 Jaya May 5, 2011 at 5:27 am

    I would love to make these for my 2 year old’s party. Could you send me the recipe for the frosting as well. Great job!

  9. 10 Tristen Berry December 2, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    I’m gonna join in with everyone else and ask for your “royal icing recipe” PLEASE. We are throwing a 60’s themed 60th birthday party for my mother in law and these would be perfect. Thanks so much

  10. 11 Jianna December 18, 2011 at 3:17 am

    I would love your “base” icing recipe, too! I want to try this for Ginger-dudes!
    Would you e-mail it?


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


