How to Make Pumpkin Puree (the Easy Way)

Sometimes I hate to admit it, but as many concluded in the much-discussed Martha Stewart vs. Rachael Ray dustup last week, nobody does it like Martha.

When I first made pumpkin puree a few weeks ago, I mentioned that I had originally intended to use Martha Stewart’s method but decided to go with the instructions on the pumpkin sticker instead.  I got great results, but I really struggled to cut open my pumpkins.  (At this point, I’m not sure if the sweat was from pure exertion or the completely rational fear of losing a finger.)

Since I’m making the Chocolate-Pumpkin Tart again for Thanksgiving, I needed to whip up some more puree.  For comparison’s sake, I decided to use Martha’s method today and (of course) it totally trumped the pie sticker method.  Martha says to peel and seed the pumpkin (I used a really sharp Y peeler), cut it into 2-inch pieces, and then steam it (covered) on the stove for 15 minutes.  As I had hoped, cutting through the pumpkin was easy peasy once the skin had been removed.  I actually skipped the step of cutting off the top and bottom of the pumpkin (I didn’t want to struggle!) and then sliced the flesh off in quarters after I finished peeling the pumpkin.  All I had left was this little pumpkin “sandwich.”

Pumpkin Remnants

The results were identical to the other method once I pureed the steamed pumpkin in the food processor – smooth, creamy pumpkin puree with no difference in flavor.  For me (and for the sake of safety and energy conservation), Martha’s way is now the right way to make pumpkin puree.

Recipe link: Sugar-Pumpkin Puree

2 Responses to “How to Make Pumpkin Puree (the Easy Way)”


  1. 1 C.Go November 26, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Whereas I am right about things only about 85% of the time, Martha is right about 98.5% of the time.


  1. 1 How to Make Pumpkin Puree « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on November 30, 2009 at 2:52 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


