Peanut Butter Crunch Cookies

We finally finished off the remnants of the holiday sweets I had in the freezer last week, so naturally, it was time to make some more. 🙂

I signed up for Real Simple’s “Cookie of the Day” e-mails for the month of December, which is where I found today’s recipe – Peanut Butter Crunch Cookies.  I absolutely adore peanut butter (even more when it’s paired with a great berry jam), so these cookies had an irresistible draw.  I’ve also never made peanut butter cookies with Rice Krispies in them; I was super curious to find out how the cereal would affect the cookie texture.

Click here for the full recipe.  Here are my notes on the process of making the cookies:

  • I used unsalted peanuts in the cookie dough.  (The recipe didn’t specify.)
  • I used my 1 1/2-inch cookie scoop to portion the dough.  The recipe suggested a result of 4 dozen cookies; I only got 31.
  • I lined my baking sheets with parchment.
  • I made half of the cookies with jam and half without.  Although the recipe had a suggested baking time of 12 minutes, the cookies without jam were done in 9 minutes and the cookies with jam were done in 10 minutes.

Peanut Butter Crunch Cookies

These don’t take the “new favorite cookie” prize, but they’re pretty tasty little treats.  I would say they’re far more crispy than crunchy, though.  I think of “crunchy” as a “chomping with your molars” kind of characteristic.  With the Rice Krispies (mostly air), the cookies were exceptionally light; they were also moist without being chewy.  In terms of flavor, I noticed the saltiness of the cookies far more in the “plain” ones (without jam); people who are big fans of sweet and salty flavors together (like kettle corn) would probably enjoy them.  A peanut butter and jelly sandwich is one of my favorite treats, though, so I have to say the cookies with jam were my favorite.

Putting the dough together was exceptionally easy and the baking process resulted in minimal mess.  (And believe me, folks, I know how to make a mess.)  You could easy churn out a batch of these cookies in 30 – 40 minutes.  I plan to make this one of my “go to” recipes when I need crowd-pleasing treats in a pinch.

Recipe link: Peanut Butter Crunch Cookies

0 Responses to “Peanut Butter Crunch Cookies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


