Apple Fritters

Like thousands of other people who follow Pioneer Woman’s blog, I’m sure, my friend Christopher and I set out to make her apple fritters this past weekend.  (Our Saturday night also included her pot roast and mashed potatoes, which I’ll write about later, and The Hurt Locker, which I highly recommend.)  Due to my level of red wine consumption, I was kindly demoted to sous chef.  I can’t say I minded, since I rarely get to see someone else in action in my kitchen.

Since I didn’t do anything besides chop the apples and pull the ingredients out of the refrigerator and pantry, I can’t give a first person step-by-step breakdown of this recipe.  I do know that Christopher followed it as written, though, and that the results were absolutely delicious.  Here are a few photos from our project:

Apple Fritter Batter

This shot shows the consistency of the batter and the size of our apple dice.

Undusted Apple Fritters

This photo says it all. We have the freshly fried, undusted fritters; the arm of C.Go, who made it all happen; the powdered sugar that had to be transferred to a Ziploc after I dropped most of the regular bag into the batter bowl; the red wine that got me demoted; and the arm of Dr. O, ready to taste the finished product.

Apple Fritters

Finished fritters!

It took us a few tries to find the right amount of batter for fritters that were golden brown and cooked through, but once we got it, we got it good.  The result was a soft, puffy fritter that was lightly crisped on the outside; the cinnamon and the apple bits were what really made them sing.  They were super tasty and definitely worth the fry mess, especially since we were able to re-crisp the leftovers in the oven the next morning (350°F for 8 minutes) for a second round of deliciousness.

If you’re going to try this recipe, I have a few recommendations:

  • Dice the apples pretty finely.  You can see the basic size we used in the photo of the batter.  I was pleasantly surprised by how cooked they were even after only a minute or so in the oil.
  • Start with your oil at medium-low heat.  We started at medium heat and our test fritters were browning way too quickly; the centers were undercooked while the outside was practically burned.  Once we hit our stride, we were using about 1 tablespoon of dough (half of my cookie scoop), oil over medium-low heat, and only about 90 seconds of cooking time (45 seconds on each side).
  • Definitely wait until the fritters cool down a bit until you dust them with powdered sugar; otherwise, they’ll just soak it up.  (If you just can’t wait, though, go for it; you’ll still taste the powdered sugar even if you can’t really see it.)

Recipe link: Apple Fritters

0 Responses to “Apple Fritters”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


