Roast Pork with Squash and Onions

Foodie friends, meet my new favorite recipe.

You absolutely have to make this.  (Unless, of course, you’re coming to my house for dinner anytime soon; I’ll be making it for you.)

Martha really got it right this time.  With a short ingredient list, minimal prep time, and unbelievably delicious results, Roast Pork with Squash and Onions from the March 2010 issue of Everyday Food is darn near perfect.  The pork was seriously melt-in-your-mouth tender (probably because of the combination of searing and roasting) and the veggies were tender and bursting with flavor.  I never would have thought to combine sage and orange flavors with butternut squash and onions, but it’s pretty amazing.  Here’s my platter of deliciousness:

Roast Pork with Squash and Onions

Currently, this one isn’t available online.  I’m not sure if the Everyday Food crew is just taking their time or if it isn’t in the cards, but it’s practically a sin not to share it, so here it is:

Roast Pork with Squash and Onions
Serves 4 to 6 | Active time: 25 min. |Total time: 40 min.

Ingredients:
1 butternut squash (about 2 pounds), peeled, quartered, seeded, and cut into 3/4-inch slices
1 large red onion, cut into 8 wedges
2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons olive oil
5 whole fresh sage leaves
Coarse salt and ground pepper
2 pork tenderloins (about 3/4 pound each)
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
1 orange, halved

Method:
Preheat oven to 425°F.  On a rimmed baking sheet, toss together squash, onion, 2 tablespoons oil, and sage.  Season with salt and pepper.  Roast 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, season pork generously with salt and pepper; sprinkle with oregano.  In a large skillet, heat 2 teaspoons oil over medium-high.  Cook pork until golden brown on all sides, 8 to 10 minutes.  Nestle pork among vegetables on sheet; roast until vegetables are tender and pork is cooked through (an instant-read thermometer inserted in center of pork should read 145°F), 15 to 20 minutes.

Transfer pork to a cutting board to rest.  Squeeze orange halves over vegetables.  With a wooden spoon, gently scrape up any browned bits from sheet.  With a slotted spoon, transfer vegetables to a serving platter; slice pork and arrange alongside.  Serve pork and vegetables drizzled with pan juices.

Nutrition (per serving, based on 4): 393 cal; 15.4 g fat (3.4 g sat fat); 36.3 g protein; 28.3 g carb; 4.7 g fiber

Source: Everyday Food, March 2010

My notes:

  • Each of my pork tenderloins weighed about 1 pound; that was the smallest I could find at my grocery store.
  • I always use tongs to flip my meat when seasoning to make sure the entire piece is covered.
  • I roasted my pork for the full 20 minutes.
  • We like our pork between medium and medium well; you may have noticed the pink centers of my pork slices.  If you don’t want any pink, cooking your pork to an internal temperature of 160°F should do the trick.  (The recipe says 145°F.)
  • We (two adults, one hungrier than average) were able to eat two full meals from this recipe.

Hope you give it a try!

2 Responses to “Roast Pork with Squash and Onions”


  1. 1 Kari March 27, 2010 at 1:57 am

    I made this dinner last night!!!!! Super-dee-lish!!!! I will say that I forgot to squeeze the orange halves over the veggies!!! I was too excited about how good everything smelled…..I forgot. Everything still had a great flavor, but I will definitely remember to use the orange halves next time…..because there will definitely be a next time with this recipe!!!🙂

  2. 2 jfochek March 27, 2010 at 3:07 am

    I am SO glad you liked it! I had my second time around with this one last Sunday when I had my Colorado family over for dinner… It was just as amazing as the first time. My cousin’s husband even said it was in his top three experiences with squash.😉


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


