Creamy Mashed Potatoes

I mentioned earlier this week that I would write about making Pioneer Woman’s Perfect Pot Roast and Creamy Mashed Potatoes, so it’s time to make good on that promise.  I’ll start with the pot roast, since I hate to be anticlimactic.  Honestly, it was pretty disappointing.  It wasn’t bad, but after hours of blissing out to the intoxicating smell of rosemary cooking in beef broth, I was expecting something spectacular.  The fattier slices of meat were pretty tender (forget about the dry side of the roast!) and the veggies were reasonably tasty, but the fantastic smells just didn’t translate into a fantastic meal.  Meh.

Thankfully, though, the mashed potatoes saved the meal.  They were amazing.  I can think of fourteen caloric reasons why this is true (12 tablespoons of butter, 1 package of cream cheese, and 1/2 cup of half-and-half), but you know what?  They can be made ahead and they’re abso-freakin’-lutely delicious, so they work for me.

As always, PW is going to give you way more step-by-step photo instruction than I can muster, so I’ll let her tell you how to make them.  Here’s a shot of my finished product, though (along with the sad, sad pot roast):

Creamy Mashed Potatoes

The potatoes were creamy, flavorful perfection, really.  I couldn’t bring myself to put the extra pats of butter on top before baking, but they didn’t need it.  I did have to go four rounds with the seasoning to get the flavor I wanted (probably because I used unsalted butter instead of salted butter to start with), but they were worth the effort.  If you make sure your potatoes are fully cooked, use the recommended quantities of other ingredients, and keep salting and peppering until they taste good to you, you can’t go wrong.  I’m adding this recipe to my entertaining arsenal, and I look forward to having these potatoes on my plate again soon.  Mmmmmm.

TIPS:  I made my potatoes ahead and reheated them; they were not completely heated through at the end of the recommended 30 minutes at 350°F.  Christopher and I got warm potatoes; poor Dr. O got left out in the cold and had to have a date with the microwave.  Next time, either I’ll give them some time to come to room temperature before I put them in, or I’ll warm them for an extra 5 – 10 minutes.

Recipe link: Creamy Mashed Potatoes

2 Responses to “Creamy Mashed Potatoes”


  1. 1 Jennifer March 27, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    I tried PW’s mac and cheese, which is incredible, so I knew the mashed potatoes were going to be just as fantastic…. just *how* fantastic was the question! Oh. my. goodness. They were insane!! (stuck with 1 stick ‘o butter – couldn’t do more in or on top of!!)
    My kitchen nemisis (sp?) was making mashed potatoes (but ask me to make pan seared cornish hens with sage or pecan crusted chicken salad with honey mustard and it’d be no problem – what gives?!), but not anymore!! 🙂

  2. 2 jfochek March 28, 2010 at 5:59 am

    Aren’t they amazing? I also viewed making mashed potatoes as such a CHORE (like grating cheese!), but I think these are worth it. I love that you can make them ahead too!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


