Potato, Leek, and Feta Tart

Last night, I fed Dr. O the last meal he would eat as a member of a certain age group.  (That age group will not be disclosed.)  If I had thought about our Thursday night meal this way when I was menu planning for the week, I might have planned an old favorite to mark the occasion.  Thankfully, what I did plan – Potato, Leek, and Feta Tart from Real Simple – was elegant, delish, and night-before-big-birthday-worthy.

To start, I preheated my oven to 375°F and then prepped my veggies and herbs.  I cut two small zucchini into half-moons (about 1/4-inch thick), chopped two tablespoons of fresh dill, and thinly sliced 2 red potatoes (about 8 ounces total) using the thinnest slice option on my mandoline.  (I have a cheap one from Amazon.com.)  I also cut the white and light green parts of two leeks into thin half-moons.  Leeks require a few rounds of rinsing to remove all the grit; if you’ve never worked with leeks before, I’d recommend reading my Tomato and Leek Frittata post.

Once the veggies were prepped, I heated 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  I added the leeks, the zucchini, 1/2 teaspoon of coarse salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper and cooked the mixture, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes.  Next, I stirred in 2 ounces of crumbled feta cheese and the chopped dill. Finally, I added the sliced potatoes, tossed everything to combine, and removed the skillet from the heat.  (At this point, the cheese will not be melted and the potatoes will not be cooked – don’t worry!)

On a piece of parchment paper, I rolled 1 store-bought 9-inch pie crust to a 12-inch diameter.  I moved the paper (with the pie crust) onto a baking sheet and spooned the potato mixture onto the pie crust, leaving a 2-inch border.  I folded the edge of the pie crust over the edge of the potato mixture and baked it until the pie crust was golden brown and the potatoes were tender (55 minutes).  (I did tent mine with foil at the 45-minute mark to prevent the crust from getting too dark.)  I served the tart in wedges with salad on the side.

Potato Leek and Feta Tart

I was nervous about this one since there wasn’t exactly a finished filling to sample before everything went into the oven, but I ended up pleasantly surprised.  The amount of salt and pepper was just right; the saltiness of the feta definitely added to the overall flavor profile.  The pie crust was flaky and not at all soggy, the vegetables were tender, and the cheese was browned on top but melted inside.  It was pretty yummy overall.  My only issue with this recipe is that the potatoes that were exposed on top of the filling ended up a bit chewy while the potatoes underneath were just perfect; next time, I’ll nestle the potato slices beneath a layer of leeks and zucchini.

The baking time is long but the prep work was pretty easy…  I would definitely make this again for any night when dinner needs to be simple but special.

Recipe link: Potato, Leek, and Feta Tart

0 Responses to “Potato, Leek, and Feta Tart”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


