Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Orange Tian

I’m in just under the buzzer!

The 2010 March Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Jennifer of Chocolate Shavings. She chose Orange Tian as the challenge for this month, a dessert based on a recipe from Alain Ducasse’s Cooking School in Paris.

So I’ve never tasted (or even seen) Orange Tian before.  Heck, I don’t even know how to pronounce it.  What do I know?  It’s delicious.  In the end, you have a four layer dessert: a pate sablee base (it tastes a lot like shortbread), a layer of homemade orange marmalade, a layer of orange whipped cream, and a layer of caramel-soaked orange segments.  Each serving is topped off with a spoonful of caramel sauce.  Citrus desserts don’t come out of my kitchen very often, but I would certainly make this one again…  It’s rich (the cream and the pate sablee) yet fresh (the oranges) at the same time, and it can be made ahead for company.  Here are my notes from the experience:

  • I didn’t have enough round cookie cutters to make individual portions, so I used a removable-bottom tart tin to make one large portion.
  • I made my marmalade three days ahead (and I’m looking forward to finishing it on toast this week!).
  • I was so certain that my baked pate sablee would break into several large chunks when I tried to transfer it to the top (which would eventually become the bottom) of the dessert before freezing, but everything went beautifully. The baked pate sablee really did have the texture of a shortbread cookie, so it was solid enough to handle, yet fragile enough to induce transfer anxiety.
  • My caramel sauce never thickened on the second cooking.  I’ve made caramel successfully on other occasions using a candy thermometer…  Who knows?  I just spooned my thin sauce over the dessert wedges anyway.

(I really, really hate taking pictures at night (especially since we have so much more daylight now), but I just wanted to post and be done.  Gourmet club brunch = big morning plans!)

Orange Tian

Here’s a new daytime shot of the cut tian:

Orange Tian

Thanks, Jennifer, for a fun challenge!

Recipe link: Orange Tian

9 Responses to “Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Orange Tian”


  1. 1 bakingaddict March 28, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    I made a family size version as well. Yours looks really delicious.

  2. 2 Natalie March 28, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Wow your orange tian looks beautiful, great job on this challenge😀.

  3. 3 Penny March 28, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Looks great! Quite a fabulous dessert for company.

  4. 4 Jeanne March 28, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Great job on the tian! I love the circular pattern of the oranges on top.

  5. 5 Sabine March 29, 2010 at 1:08 am

    I think a family size version is a lot more difficult to make. You did a great job!

  6. 6 Amy Lucille March 29, 2010 at 2:44 am

    Beautiful job on the orange segments, I love the uniformity of your dessert.

  7. 7 lisamichele March 29, 2010 at 3:58 am

    I wish I made a family size version because I had no two cookie cutters alike! Beautifully done!

  8. 8 Marcellina March 29, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Lovely orange tian! Thanks for popping over to my blog because now I know yours. I really like your blog particularly your post on your trip to London. I had the same impression as you about the food but it was interesting to read that’s not what you found.

  9. 9 Stephanie March 29, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Your tian looks awesome! Didn’t you just love this challenge? I thought this was a great dessert, especially for something I had never heard of before. Great job!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


