Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Chocolate Pavlovas with Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse

The June 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Dawn of Doable and Delicious. Dawn challenged the Daring Bakers to make Chocolate Pavlovas and Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse. The challenge recipe is based on a recipe from the book Chocolate Epiphany by Francois Payard.
______________________________________________________________

I actually finished this challenge early (for once!), but I got so wrapped up in having houseguests this weekend that I completely forgot to post.  Oopsie!

Making pavlovas is one of those projects that has been on my baking to-do list for years, so there was no way I was going to sit this one out.  I didn’t get the results I wanted, but I know I’ll be that much more prepared for my next attempt.

I was really, really hoping for the perfect meringue shell – crisp on the outside, marshmallow-y in the center – but mine ended up crisp all the way through.  My shells weren’t unusually small (I ended up with 8 from a full recipe of meringue) and I only baked them for 2 hours (the low end of the recommended baking time), so I’m not sure what went wrong.  Also, my mousse went from zero to sixty in about half a second; as we were warned, the mascarpone did indeed separate. Chunky mousse isn’t a beautiful thing, but it still tasted good.

The unexpected shining star for me was the anglaise sauce…  It was amazing.  I actually would have rather drizzled that over the pavlovas without any modifications; it seemed like the mascarpone and cream just diluted the flavor.

Chocolate Pavlova with Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse

I may be imperfect, but I'm still tasty.

Thank you, Dawn, for lighting the fire that led to my first pavlova attempt… Hopefully, the second time will be a success!

Recipe link: Chocolate Pavlovas with Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse

3 Responses to “Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Chocolate Pavlovas with Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse”


  1. 1 Audax Artifex June 29, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Don’t worry about the crisp-all-the-way through pav shells that is the way they were might to be – the classic pavlova the way you describe it uses a much different method to produce that texture. See my blog for the recipe. And yes many people mentioned the creme was to die for and in fact you make ice cream with it normally. Lovely photo also. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  2. 2 Stephanie @ Per l'Amore del Cibo June 29, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Soooooo cute! I loved the sauce too, and agree that it would have been better without the mascarpone mixed in. Great job!

  3. 3 Lindsay June 29, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    So pretty! Great work!!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


