Fuel Cafe’s Chocolate-Chip Oatmeal Pecan Cookies

I am pleased to report that I discovered another fantastic recipe for the high-altitude baking arsenal this weekend: Fuel Cafe’s Chocolate-Chip Oatmeal Pecan Cookies.  I had practically given up on 5280‘s Cookie Jar column since the last recipe I tried fell amazingly flat (literally), but I think the magazine has redeemed itself.  I haven’t been to Fuel Cafe yet, so I’m not sure if the recipe results are an accurate representation of the real thing.  Regardless, they’re amazing.  Here’s the recipe:

Fuel Cafe’s Chocolate-Chip Oatmeal Pecan Cookies
Makes 16 – 18 large cookies or 24 – 30 smaller cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 pound unsalted butter, softened but not melted
1 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups flour
2 cups old-fashioned oats (not instant)
2 cups mini chocolate chips
2 cups pecans, chopped and untoasted

Method:
Preheat oven to 375°F.  In a stand mixer with paddle attachment, cream together butter, brown sugar, and regular sugar for about 5 minutes.  Add salt and baking soda.  On low speed, add one egg at a time until incorporated.  Do not over-mix. Add vanilla.  Mix in flour at low speed until incorporated.  Do not over-mix.  Add oats, chocolate chips, and chopped pecans, only until combined.  (Over-mixing results in tough cookies.)

Scoop dough onto parchment-lined baking sheet.  Fuel uses 1/4 cup dough per cookie, baked for approximately 11 – 12 minutes until golden brown.  For smaller cookies, use one heaping tablespoon each and bake for 8 to 10 minutes.  Cool briefly on baking sheet before transferring to wire cooling rack.

Fuel Cafe's Chocolate-Chip Oatmeal Pecan Cookies

This is the first time I’ve made what I consider to be a truly successful chewy chocolate chip cookie here in Denver.  They’re so tasty.  They’re pleasantly nutty because of the pecans, there’s plenty of chocolate from the mini chips, and the oats make them dense.  The outside edges are crisp, but the centers are perfectly chewy.  Mmmm.  I sent what remained of my batch to Dr. O’s office this morning, and they’re getting rave reviews.  Give them a try!

TIPS:  I made a half recipe and portioned the dough using my 1 1/2-inch cookie scoop; I ended up with exactly 2 dozen cookies.  Each batch needed 10 minutes at 375°F at my house.  I also noticed that the cookies didn’t spread as much when I baked them on a shiny, light-colored, rimmed baking sheet; they spread a bit more on my flat cookie sheets.  I did line my sheets with parchment as the recipe suggested.

Recipe link: Fuel Cafe’s Chocolate-Chip Oatmeal Pecan Cookies

8 Responses to “Fuel Cafe’s Chocolate-Chip Oatmeal Pecan Cookies”


  1. 1 Barbara | VinoLuciStyle September 14, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Really not flat? Promise? I’ve lived in Denver for 25 years and I’ve piddled and revised and done all I can think of yet those lofty adjectives so often accompanying a recipe for chocolate chip cookies do not apply. They taste fine but have yet to make a cookie that is photo worthy in my book.

    I’ll have to try these…thinking today!

    • 2 jfochek September 14, 2010 at 12:10 am

      I think the oats help stop them from spreading. The last batch I baked (the ones on the light-colored, rimmed baking sheet) looked downright fluffy. I didn’t flatten the scoops of dough at all once they were on the baking sheet, so maybe that helped too. You’ll have to let me know how they go if you try them!

  2. 3 Molly September 28, 2010 at 2:56 am

    These were amazing, thanks for sharing!

    I actually did the 1/4 C. suggestion as I was giving them to friends – turned out really well! Always nice to have a “go-to” cookie here in Denver!

  3. 5 meeew September 19, 2011 at 5:54 am

    Yup, that’s the fuel cafe cookie recipe. I was the one who made those cookies at the restaurant for a year and a half.🙂 i was actually looking online to find this exact recipe so I can share some cookies with my friends in seattle. hope the recipe works as well at low altitude!

  4. 7 Janell January 19, 2013 at 5:35 am

    Pretty! This was a really wonderful post. Thanks for providing this information.


  1. 1 Chocolate Stout Cake (aka My Best Denver Cake Yet!) « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on March 16, 2012 at 6:50 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


