Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Biscuit Joconde Imprime/Entremet

The January 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Astheroshe of the blog accro. She chose to challenge everyone to make a Biscuit Joconde Imprime to wrap around an Entremets dessert.

_____________________________________________________

I had a feeling this challenge was going to end up being an all-day thing for me (it was!), and the temptation to skip it was strong.  I’m glad I forged ahead, though, because I’m pretty proud of my final result.  I made the cocoa variation of the biscuit joconde and brushed it with homemade vanilla syrup to keep the sponge moist.  (I learned my lesson when my Dobos Torta looked much better than it tasted.)  Then, I filled it with white chocolate ganache, Nutella mousse, and raspberry gelée (all homemade).  If I made the dessert again, I might fill the center with something firmer (like no-bake cheesecake, maybe), but I really enjoyed the way my flavors came together.

Biscuit Joconde Detail

Dessert Interior

My only heartbreak is that I was so looking forward to using my cake comb to pattern the joconde decor paste and I couldn’t find it.  I turned my entire kitchen upside down with no luck.  Since I wanted a clean design, I just used a 1/4-inch dowel to drag straight lines through the paste.  If I had known how much they would narrow in the baking process, I would have made them even thicker.

This project was a lot of work, but it was worth the sense of accomplishment. Thanks for a great challenge, Astheroshe!

Recipe link: Biscuit Joconde Imprime/Entremet

4 Responses to “Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Biscuit Joconde Imprime/Entremet”


  1. 1 Stephanie @ Per l'Amore del Cibo February 1, 2011 at 5:02 am

    Great job on the challenge, girl, it looks GREAT!!! I just couldn’t get myself to do all that work with everything going on over here lately. Everyone’s results have been great though.

  2. 2 jfochek February 2, 2011 at 2:09 am

    Thanks, Steph! It was a doozy. Hopefully, the February challenge will be less labor intensive but just as interesting…

  3. 3 Sara February 6, 2011 at 2:53 am

    Do you think you’d make it again? It may have been a lot of work, but it looks awesome.

    • 4 jfochek February 7, 2011 at 10:13 pm

      Thanks, Sara! You know, I might make it again for a special occasion, particularly if the occasion has a French element. The pattern potential is pretty much endless, which would make for some fun experimentation.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


