Fat Tire Pulled Pork Tacos

I was recently selected to participate in a challenge put on by Foodbuzz and New Belgium Brewing.  The goal: to create a recipe that incorporates a New Belgium beer or pairs well with one.  In return, I would receive a $50 stipend to buy beer and ingredients (yes!) and the opportunity to connect with New Belgium’s many, many Facebook fans (double yes!) if the company likes my recipe well enough to post it.  I was especially excited about this challenge because Dr. O and I have been huge fans of New Belgium for years.  Since we live in Denver, we’ve even been able to make a trip up to Ft. Collins to visit the brewery.

Dr. O at New Belgium

Not-Yet-Dr. O waaaay back in the day

To honor my hubby’s favorite (classic Fat Tire), I decided to build on a pulled pork taco recipe that I developed for a friend’s party last year.  Here it is:

Fat Tire Pulled Pork Tacos
Serves 4 – 6

Ingredients:
3 1/2-pound pork shoulder roast, trimmed of excess fat
1 cup Fat Tire (drink the rest!)
1 small onion, peeled and cut into thick wedges
1 serrano pepper, seeded and finely diced
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1 bay leaf
1 teaspoon coarse salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
Salsa
Sliced avocado
Queso fresco
Tortillas or taco shells

Method:
In a 5-quart slow cooker, combine beer, onion, serrano pepper, garlic, and bay leaf. Cut pork roast in half and add to the slow cooker.  Sprinkle salt and pepper over the top of the pork.  Cook on low heat for 8 hours (or high heat for 6 hours).

Transfer pork from the slow cooker to a large bowl.  Cover to keep warm.

Skim fat from the top of the slow cooker juices (or pour juices into a fat separator). Strain juices into a medium saucepan (discard solids) and cook over medium-high heat until reduced by half (about 5 to 7 minutes).

Meanwhile, shred pork with two forks.  Discard any obvious pieces of fat.  Pour reduced slow cooker juices over the shredded pork and toss to combine.  Season to taste with coarse salt and freshly ground pepper.

Serve pork in tortillas or taco shells with your favorite salsa, sliced avocado, and queso fresco.  Enjoy with Fat Tire, of course!

Fat Tire Pulled Pork Tacos

This recipe produces great results.  The meat comes out tender, moist, and flavorful, and the accompaniments round out the dish nicely.  Fat Tire and tacos are a match made in heaven.  Give them a try!

13 Responses to “Fat Tire Pulled Pork Tacos”


  1. 1 Streusel April 9, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Oh, man! I am making this for dinner this weekend.🙂

  2. 2 Stephanie April 18, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    What a great opportunity! So…did they pick the recipe?! Sounds great to me, so I can’t imagine why they wouldn’t have!

    • 3 jfochek April 18, 2011 at 11:03 pm

      I haven’t heard anything yet, but they’ve only posted one recipe so far from the 150 people they selected to participate. Fingers are crossed!🙂

  3. 4 Michael Beyer October 21, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    My “cousin-in-law” loves Fat Tire and I try to serve it when he comes over. I’m definitely going to try your pulled pork tacos. I’m a fan of pulled pork and it’s been awhile since I tried a recipe with beer. Your recipe reminds me of a delicious beer-braised turkey leg taco recipe that Food and Wine did awhile back. Hope your recipe gets a lot of exposure from New Belgium Brewing.
    – Michael

  4. 6 Michael Beyer October 28, 2011 at 6:39 am

    I tried your tacos tonight and enjoyed them. I don’t have a slow cooker, so I put the pork in a roasting pan. It still came out very juicy, but I think I would try adding some additional seasoning next time. Any suggestions? Alternatively, this may be a taco to allow the condiments to shine and let the juicy meat play second fiddle.

    By the way, can you post a link to the challenge itself you entered? I may be putting together a recipe challenge on behalf of a cheese and butter company soon. I’m curious how they structured it and spread the word.

    – Michael

    • 7 jfochek October 28, 2011 at 7:20 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed the tacos, Michael! And I think you hit the nail on the head when you talked about letting the condiments shine… For me, this is just a juicy base meat that serves as a vehicle for all the delicious things you can put on tacos. If I were to try any additional seasoning, though, I would probably rub some cumin and/or chili powder into the meat before roasting. Since I haven’t actually tried it yet, though, I’m not sure how that would play with the Fat Tire.

      All the communication I received that was related to the challenge came via e-mail from Foodbuzz. I couldn’t find any other online content, so I’ll forward you the e-mails. Sound good?

  5. 8 Michael Beyer October 29, 2011 at 5:09 am

    Hi Jenny! I’m having second rounds tonight and I’m thoroughly looking forward to them. Another thing that is nice about pulled pork is that it is easy to warm up after a busy day at the office. I like your suggestion of trying cumin and/or chili powder. A little oregano might be nice too. Asiago cheese as a condiment could be interesting…!

    I really appreciate you taking the time to e-mail me your food challenge details. That was very kind of you.

    – Michael

  6. 9 Aaron November 3, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Have this cooking at home right now, I’m trying Sunshine instead of Fat Tire though, looks really good

  7. 10 Dee November 6, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    I tried this recipe in hopes of finding a crock pot recipe that would be so good that I wouldn’t feel compelled to sear the meat first…and, success! I made this last night and it was really tasty! I added some cumin and chile powder as you suggested and served with your accompaniments plus some sliced radishes. The meat was even better after it sat in the reduced juices for a while.

  8. 11 Emily @ She Makes and Bakes June 1, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    I made pulled pork last weekend, but I’m wishing I had seen this recipe. This looks so good…love the addition of beer! Definitely is on the list of things to make!


  1. 1 Roast Pork Loin with Carrots and Mustard Gravy « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on January 24, 2012 at 11:49 pm
  2. 2 Cinco de Mayo All-Stars « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on May 4, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


