Peanut Butter Waffles

How do I love thee, peanut butter?  Next to apple slices, tucked inside a chocolate cup, sandwiched with homemade jam, and now, in waffles.  As someone who consumes peanut butter almost daily, I saw this recipe in the May 2011 issue of Everyday Food and couldn’t resist.

The recipe isn’t on Martha Stewart’s site yet, so I’ve posted it for you.  I was able to get 20 small heart-shaped waffles out of the batter.  Two waffles (before you add bananas and syrup) are 6 Weight Watchers PointsPlus points.

Peanut Butter Waffles
Yield varies with waffle maker

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted, plus more for brushing waffle iron
6 tablespoons creamy peanut butter
2 cups buttermilk
2 large eggs
3 bananas, sliced, for serving
3/4 cup pure maple syrup, for serving

Method:
Heat waffle iron and preheat oven to 275°F; set a wire rack in a rimmed baking sheet and place in oven.  In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a blender, blend butter and peanut butter until smooth, 1 minute.  Add buttermilk and eggs and blend until combined, 1 minute. Add buttermilk mixture to flour mixture and stir just until batter is combined.

Brush waffle iron with butter and pour in 1/2 to 3/4 cup batter, leaving a 1/2-inch border on all sides.  Close iron and cook until waffles are golden brown, 2 to 4 minutes.  Transfer waffles to rack in oven to keep warm; repeat with remaining batter.  Serve with bananas and maple syrup.

Note: Waffles can be frozen in zip-top bags, up to 1 month; reheat in the toaster or a 325°F oven.

Source: Everyday Food, May 2011

Peanut Butter Waffles

I’m not sure I’ve ever had a bad waffle, but these are tastier than most.  They have a subtle peanut butter flavor when eaten plain; I think the bananas and syrup bring out the peanut butter a bit more.  In terms of texture, they’re pretty light and fluffy. The oven time crisps the outside edge a bit (a plus in my book!).  Since I am always looking for good make-ahead recipes to take the stress out of entertaining (or even just getting Dr. O out the door in the morning), I love that I can make a whole batch and either hold them in the oven or freeze them for later.

These aren’t going to dethrone my favorite classic waffle recipe, but they are certainly delicious and a nice change of pace.  Give them a try!

5 Responses to “Peanut Butter Waffles”


  1. 1 Barbara | VinoLuciStyle May 4, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    I love peanut butter too though would be lying if I said I ate it everyday…but could. But how do I love it most? A peanut butter and banana sandwich is how. Some things we just never grow too old to love so your waffles would be perfect for me.

    • 2 jfochek May 4, 2011 at 9:24 pm

      You could always make a waffle sandwich with bananas and extra peanut butter… Yum!

      Hope the group had a great meeting last Saturday.

  2. 3 Stephanie May 6, 2011 at 4:14 am

    Yum, YUM, Y-U-M. I love waffles, and I can only imagine how delicious the addition of peanut butter is. And with bananas on top?! Oh. My. Gosh. Droooollll

  3. 4 Disco May 8, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    Just attempted to make these. The batter is WAY too thick. I screwed up the waffles. Now we’re having pancakes:\

    • 5 jfochek May 8, 2011 at 8:37 pm

      My batter was thick as well, but the only problem I had was having to trim (and nibble on) a few overflow pieces. Hmmmm… I’d love to hear more details about what went wrong, if you’re willing to share. Sorry for your trouble!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


