Green Chile Stew

It’s snowing like crazy here in Denver today, and it isn’t supposed to stop until tomorrow morning.  To me, one of the best parts of hunkering down for a snowy weekend is cooking warm, comforting food like today’s recipe – Green Chile Stew. I’ve enjoyed delicious green chile with pork many times at the Gomez home in New Mexico, but I’d never tried making any myself (probably because it took a long time to work up my spicy food tolerance to the point where I could handle the dish!). Motivated by the batch of roasted Big Jim chiles in my freezer (thanks, C.Go!), I decided to give this one a try.  Our noses ran from the heat of the chiles, for sure, but we enjoyed every bite.

February 3rd Snow

And it's still coming down!

Green Chile Stew
Serves 4 – 6

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 pounds lean pork, cubed (I had a 1.5-pound pork tenderloin in my freezer, so I used that)
1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
6 to 8 green New Mexico chiles, roasted, peeled, seeds and stems removed, chopped
1 large potato, peeled and diced (optional)
2 tomatoes, peeled and chopped (I was not about to deal with peeling a tomato, so I used a drained 14.5-ounce can of peeled diced tomatoes)
3 cups water (or chicken stock) (I used chicken stock)
Salt to taste

Method:

Heat the oil in a pan and brown the pork.  Add the onion and garlic and sauté for a couple of minutes.

Combine the pork mixture and remaining ingredients in a Dutch oven and simmer, covered, for 1-1/2 to 2 hours or until the meat is very tender.  Check occasionally and add a bit more water if needed.  Season to taste.

Per serving (with six servings): 245 cal; 8 g fat (2 g sat fat); 2 g fiber; 9 g carb; 33 g protein

Source: The Southwest Table by Dave DeWitt

Green Chile Stew

Ohhhh, this was so good.  Simple and delicious.  I was afraid the pork might be tough or dry after cooking for so long, but it was moist and tender.  I’ll definitely use a tenderloin again the next time I make this recipe.  I loved the broth and the heat from the chiles, and the potatoes were perfectly cooked.  (Though the potatoes bulked up the stew nicely, I’ll admit that I wondered if I was committing green chile sacrilege when I put them in.)  Yay for advancing in our spicy food training!

Recipe link: Green Chile Stew

6 Responses to “Green Chile Stew”


  1. 1 jane bauer noplainjaneskitchen February 4, 2012 at 7:32 am

    Yum, I pulled some green chile out of the freezer after reading your blog. I’ll have it for breakfast tomorrow. (Yes, that’s right I eat green chile stew for breakfast along with eggs and hash browns) I always have some on hand…it is such a Colorado dish.

  2. 2 jfochek February 4, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Sounds wonderful, Jane! I envy your chile stash.🙂

  3. 3 lifeallover February 7, 2012 at 10:08 am

    I love green chile!! we actually moved from Colorado to NM last year. The first time I made green chile was with freshies that I roasted during chile season… I had no idea what I was doing really and so I thought it would be fine to use all “hot” chiles… worst idea ever haha!! Our mouths were in horrible pain, and it was only finally bearable after I added 2 more cans of chicken broth and another potato. This recipe looks great, I think i’ll make some this week. Enjoy your snow up there!

  4. 4 AJ Sagona February 11, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    Hello from a fellow Denver food blogger! This looks like such a great recipe. I make my green chile a little differently — no onion or potato — so now I’m excited to try this to compare and contrast recipes. I also totally appreciate your baking recipes. It’s very hard to bake at altitude. I’ve taken a couple of high-altitude classes but thanks to your blog I have more to try.

  5. 5 dianne February 19, 2012 at 9:59 am

    So glad you tried this and it worked well – love sharing our family recipes! D. Gomez


  1. 1 Cinco de Mayo All-Stars « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on May 4, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


