Peach, Prosciutto, and Goat Cheese Salad

I got sucked in by Costco’s goat cheese again. (Why buy 5 ounces for $4.99 when you can get two 10-ounce logs for $5.99? Plus, their goat cheese is super creamy and delish.) In my quest to find ways to use it, I came across today’s recipe: Peach, Prosciutto, and Goat Cheese Salad. I love peaches, adore prosciutto, and am crazy about goat cheese, so how could I go wrong?

Peach, Prosciutto, and Goat Cheese Salad
Serves 4

Ingredients:
1/3 cup walnut oil (I used olive because that’s what I had)
1/4 cup lime juice
3 tablespoons shallots, minced
1 1/2 tablespoons honey
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
8 cups curly leaf lettuce (I used baby spinach since I had a giant Costco container)
2 ripe peaches, peeled
8 thin slices of prosciutto
4 ounces soft goat cheese

Method:
Combine oil, lime juice, shallots, honey, pepper, and salt in a jar; cover tightly and shake vigorously to combine. Let stand 1 hour to allow flavors to blend.

Meanwhile, cut each peach into 8 wedges. Halve prosciutto slices lengthwise and wrap each peach slice in prosciutto. Thinly slice goat cheese using unflavored dental floss or a warm knife (wiped clean after each slice).

Toss lettuce with dressing. (You may not need to use it all.) Divide lettuce among four plates and top with goat cheese, peaches, and prosciutto. If you have extra dressing, drizzle some over the top of each salad.

Adapted (mostly because I think they wrote the lettuce and goat cheese quantities incorrectly) from The Dallas Morning News

Peach, Prosciutto, and Goat Cheese Salad

What a fun and delicious salad! The goat cheese, peach, and prosciutto combination is fantastic, and I love the amount of lime and shallot in the dressing. I’ll make this one again and again this summer.

That said, this salad would be even better with nuts. Adding a crunchy textural element would definitely take this over the top. I plan to make this recipe with a sprinkle of chopped, toasted walnuts next time (a natural choice since the original recipe calls for walnut oil in the dressing).

TIPS: Not sure about the best way to peel a peach? I learned this trick from Martha a few years back. Also, if you want to make this salad ahead (I know I will at some point!), you could make the dressing, slice the goat cheese (place wax paper squares between each slice for easy separation later), and wrap the peaches in the prosciutto beforehand. Just store everything in airtight containers in the refrigerator. When it’s time to eat, toss the lettuce with the dressing, assemble the salads, and top with the chopped walnuts. (That’s much easier than slicing goat cheese with dental floss in front of dinner guests, right?)

1 Response to “Peach, Prosciutto, and Goat Cheese Salad”


  1. 1 Kirsten@ My Kitchen in the Rockies June 17, 2012 at 5:59 am

    I buy Costco’s goat cheese, too. My favorite is the fig one.
    Great recipe idea! Thanks.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


